‹ News Releases

Michigan Apple Committee Board Elects Officers

LANSING, Mich. — The Michigan Apple Committee Board of Directors elected new officers at their March 28 meeting. Mark Youngquist of Kent City was elected Chair, Michael Dietrich of Conklin was elected Vice Chair, and Damon Glei of Hillsdale will serve as Third Member of the Executive Committee. The vote comes as Chair Tony Blattner of Belding ended his nine year, three-term service on the board, having served as Chair since 2013.

“Tony has been a wonderful chair to work with and has represented Michigan Apple growers well,” said Diane Smith, executive director of the Michigan Apple Committee. “Mark, Mike and Damon will continue to serve the industry in their leadership roles, providing direction as our staff continues working toward the mission of helping Michigan Apple growers be successful.”

The Michigan Apple Committee is made up of seven Michigan Apple growers appointed by the Governor of Michigan to represent growers in five different areas of the state. Terms are three years, and a board member can serve three terms.

Youngquist is a fifth generation apple grower in Kent City. His orchard, Youngquist Farms is 180 acres growing approximately 12 varieties of apples.

Dietrich grows apples with his brother on their 500 acre farm, Leo Dietrich & Sons in Conklin. He is a sixth generation grower.

Glei, of Glei’s Orchards and Greenhouses in Hillsdale, farms 300 acres on his fourth generation farm.

The Michigan Apple Committee is a grower-funded nonprofit organization devoted to marketing, education and research activities to distinguish the Michigan apple and encourage its consumption in Michigan and around the world. For more information, visit www.MichiganApples.com.