‹ News Releases

MAC Board Members Reappointed by Governor


Diane Smith
June 11, 2015 800-456-2753

Leland, Kent City Apple Growers Continue Service to Board

LANSING, Mich. — Governor Rick Snyder’s Office announced Friday that two Michigan Apple Committee board members will be reappointed for another term of service. Robert Gregory, of Leland, and Mark Youngquist, of Kent City, will serve three-year terms expiring April 1, 2018.

The seven member board engages in marketing, research, education and communications for the benefit of Michigan’s apple growers. With 850 growers and 9.2 million apple trees covering 36,500 acres, apples are Michigan’s largest and most valuable fruit crop.

“Michigan is the third-largest apple producing state in the nation, and I am pleased to tap the expertise of these two individuals on this committee,” Snyder said in a release.

Gregory is the owner and manager of Cherry Bay Orchard, Inc. in Leelanau County. He has served on the Michigan State Horticultural Society, Michigan Farm Bureau and the Northwest Michigan Horticultural Foundation.

Youngquist’s farm is located in northern Kent County. He has more than 30 years experience in the fruit and grain industry.

“Bob and Mark both continue to be great assets to our board and terrific representatives of their districts,” said Diane Smith, executive director of the Michigan Apple Committee. “I know they will continue to bring their experience and knowledge to the group going forward.”

The Michigan Apple Committee is a grower-funded nonprofit organization devoted to marketing, education and research activities to distinguish the Michigan apple and encourage its consumption in Michigan and around the world. For more information, visit www.MichiganApples.com.