‹ News Releases

Michigan Apple Committee Makes Changes

Contact: Denise Yockey
(800) 456-2753

DeWitt, Mich.- The Michigan Apple Committee (MAC) has elected new officers for its 2005-06 fiscal year. MAC chair is Julia Hersey of Casnovia. The vice chair position was filled by Scott Lewis of New Era, and the Third executive member is Robert Colgren of Lawrence.

Hersey has been a board member for five years and has served as vice chair for the past two years. Lewis is also in his second term as a Michigan Apple Committee board member.

The Michigan Apple Committee board members welcomed a new member, Donald Baiers of Watervliet. Governor Jennifer Granholm appointed Baiers to the Michigan Apple Committee this summer, to replace the outgoing MAC chair, Bryan Bixby of Berrien Springs, representing Southwest Michigan. Bixby finished his sixth year as a MAC board member in August of this year.

The Michigan Apple Committee is a grower-funded nonprofit organization devoted to promotion, education and research activities to distinguish the Michigan apple and encourage its consumption by consumers in Michigan and around the world. For more information, visit www.MichiganApples.com.